RSS

Where have you gone Joe Dimaggio?

23 Oct

I will admit I was dissapointed to see that no one has read the blog I posted on my new blog site – not even my husband, for whom I created this new blog so that he too can read it.  I know it’s rather selfish to assume that people will want to read what I write, but it still hurts a little.  Was there something wrong with the link, or am I just that boring?  😦   Maybe I’m just ultra-sensitive right now.  Read on and maybe you’ll see what I mean.

1) School is ok.  I had two exams this week and have a third in about 20 minutes.  The first two went fine; the impending one I’m not sure about, though.  I have a B in the class so far, and I hope to maintain that if not improve it, so I want to do well on this exam.  However, I am having troubling focusing my studies and all the diseases are sort of blending together into one.  Hopefully I will be able to remember the basics, for example chickens do not suffer from canine distemper, and canine parvovirus is not caused by a bacteria.  But which vitamin B deficiency causes curled toe paralysis and which one causes stargazer’s syndrome?  *Sigh* I think I am about to crack under the pressure.  Three exams in a week might be too much for me.

2) Work is extremely stressful.  Did you know that it’s not just banks who are affected by this financial crisis?  Outsourcing firms such as my employer are feeling the pain as well.  The announcement went out this week that due to the current economic climate, the company has made the difficult decision to layoff 65 of the employees in our office.  (details here: www.in-forum.com/News/articles/219279)  What does this mean for me?  No idea.  When something like this happens, no one feels “safe”.  Even though I have been there 4 years and have varied skills, I am only part-time so who knows how that will play into things.  Plus it’s a double-blow of stress because my husband works there too, so there is a possibility that we may both lose our jobs.  Then what?  Who knows.  Every day I wake up wondering what will happen, and remember the post-9/11 days at my former employer (the travel agency) when they shepherded everyone into separate rooms and told us en-masse “congratulations, you’re staying” or “sorry, thanks for playing”.  Thank goodness my current employer will not be using that particular tactic – we will be getting letters instead.  But that won’t make it any less painful.  Either way, the outcome is bad – I lose my job, or I keep my job and watch my friends and coworkers go (thereby suffering from “survivor’s guilt”).  *sigh* No wonder I am having so much trouble focusing on school.

We have already started thinking about what we can do to cut our expenses, and the first decision we’ve made is to cancel our land-line.  So, if there is anyone out there who has our home phone number but not our cell phone numbers, send me a message and I will get them to you.

Well, the time has come – I must away to take my test.  Just remember, Vitamin B2 = curled toe paralysis; vitamin B1 = stargazer’s syndrome.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 23, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Where have you gone Joe Dimaggio?

  1. nancy k

    October 23, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    i read your blog, kari!

    i put it in the list of blogs i read so i can stalk you daily. 😉 i almost never see you in person anymore so i have to keep up with you online.

    we are all worried about what will happen at work, not that it helps to know that you are not alone in this. it’s going to be crazy awful for the rest of the year.

    hope you did well on your test!

     

Leave a Reply

 
