Is it better to leave or be left behind?

Well, the ballots are in – Ian and I are both still employed. 

I spent the better part of the day yesterday obsessively checking email to see if one of us got “the letter”, and you all know how I hate suspense.  One of my friends at school brought me to her dorm room and gave me some banana cream pie she had made – from scratch.  It was delicious, but I could not finish it.  I hardly ate anything at all yesterday; I couldn’t even eat dinner, and Ian made chicken tacos, which I LOVE. 

When I got to work at 6, the first thing I did was check our email.  The only significant message we had was the one saying everyone who would be affected had been notified, which meant we were not among them.  I thought I would feel relief at the news, but honestly I think I feel even worse today than I did yesterday.  I definitely feel survivor’s guilt; why should I keep my job when there are others at the company who wanted to make it a career, and they will lose their jobs?  Somehow it doesn’t feel right.  I still need to process it for a while I think.

Oh, and a bonus for those folks who come here and read my blog – I did very well on my test.  WAY better than I expected.

One thought on “Is it better to leave or be left behind?

  1. Glad to hear that you did well on your test! Sorry about the sucky suck stuff at work but I’m happy that you’re still going to be there. I miss you guys!

Leave a comment