RSS

Is it too late to be Thankful?

04 Dec

I noticed today that there has been a sudden upsurge in activity on my blog – three times the usual number of people have visited my blog today.  When I saw that I thought to myself that I really ought to reward everyone for their readership by actually posting something new for you to read.  Isn’t that generous of me?  🙂

With the recent news about the attacks in Mumbai, I have been reminded how very lucky I am to live where I do, and to have everything I do.   I have a wonderful family, a decent job, four fuzzy and adorable pets, a comfortable home, and all the video games I need to keep me busy when I’m not doing homework or watching the TV shows I recorded during the week (which is pretty much all the time).  🙂  I am worried about our friends in Mumbai, but as we have not received any emails from the company about the tragedy I am hoping that means our coworkers and their families are safe and well.

Even though it is no longer technically the Thanksgiving season, I decided that it is never too late to be thankful, so here is a brief list:

I am thankful that I have an A in Fundamentals of Animal Disease, so I do not have to take the final.

I am thankful to be officially done with my task list.

I am thankful that I did not have to go shopping on Black Friday.

I am also thankful that Ian and I were able to keep our jobs while the economy is suffering from the financial downturn and people everywhere, even at our own company, are finding themselves suddenly unemployed. 

Additionally, I am thankful for my family.  Though they always have the potential to make me pull out my hair with frustration (see my previous entry for more details if needed), I adore my children.  My parents, of course, are wonderful and supportive.  My kids love to spend time at their house – in fact, if they believe it has been too long since their last visit to Grandma and Grandpa’s, I am sure to hear about it.  Not only that but here I am thirty-something years old, and my parents are still helping me with college.  And somehow I managed to land myself with some of the kindest, sweetest, most welcoming in-laws on the planet.  It’s like having another family away from home.  With all the stories out there of evil in-laws, I am fully aware of how lucky I am to have in-laws like them, even if some of them do listen to country music.  😉

Above all I am thankful for my amazing husband.  As a woman who hates cooking, I have always known how lucky I am to have a man who loves to cook so I don’t have to.  Since I went back to school, he has also essentially taken over the laundry, cleaning and the childcare.  He is working two jobs so that I could cut back to part time hours at work and focus on school and because of this, he gets little sleep and has had to give up many of the things he loves.  Because of his support, I am almost ready to graduate.  ♥ Honestly, 5 years ago when I decided to go back to school, I really did not know if I would make it.  I worried that it had been too long and I wouldn’t remember how to be a student.  I worried that I would not be able to afford going to school and would have to go back to work full-time.  Now I can actually see the light at the end of the tunnel! 

There is so much to be thankful for – one blog is hardly enough.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Is it too late to be Thankful?

  1. nancy k

    December 4, 2008 at 6:06 am

    true dat! but i was thankful to go shopping on black friday, the best holiday ever!

     
  2. Alison B

    December 4, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    i will join you in being thankful for not having to worry about my task list either….im also thankful you collected me some subway for lunch yesterday 🙂

     
  3. wordcandy

    December 5, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    I know that you are thankful for more than just the work I do, but the recognition is certainly nice.

     

Leave a Reply

 
