RSS

I’m dreaming of a White Christmas

23 Dec

Well, it’s not so much a dream as a nightmare. The fact is, living in North Dakota as we do, we are getting a White Christmas whether we are dreaming of one or not. In fact, it’s already here. I can hardly contain my excitement (oops – sorry, my sarcasm is showing again.)

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a little snow here and there; the problem is where there’s snow there’s cold, and I despise the cold. My dogs on the other hand, seriously could not be happier unless it started raining T-bones. Xerxes especially loves the snow. Normally when we let him outside, he does his business and immediately returns to his vigil by the door until I come to let him back in the house. Try as Selby might to engage him in a little game of tag, he will have none of it; he just wants to get back to wherever I am. This week, though, I find that he is only waiting by the door half the time when I go to open it. The rest of the time, he can be found with his nose buried in a snow pile, prancing through the yard scooping up snow in his mouth as he goes, or happily rolling in the deepest patch of snow he can find.

While my dogs will spend the Christmas holidays dashing through the snow, I will be fighting snow-blindness during the lengthy drive to southern Minnesota.  It will be nice to spend Christmas eve with my mom’s family in the cities, and then Christmas day with Ian’s family, but it sure would be nice if someone would hurry up and invent that teleportation device I’ve been hoping for…

I already got to open one of my presents yesterday.  My friend Kristin gave me a beautiful new fluffy scarf and hat, which were hand-made by her sister with materials Kristin picked out just for me.  I love it, of course.  Ian was thrilled, too.  One of the first things he said was “Oh yay!  Have you thrown out the old ones yet?”  No, I didn’t, but I made my old scarf into a pillow and gave it to Celeborn, the fluffy white office cat at school who was so enamored with that purple scarf of mine.  So far, he doesn’t seem quite as impressed with it as I had hoped, but maybe he just needs to get used to it.

All my grades are in for the semester now, so that means I officially only have two semesters left until I am officially done with school, officially.  🙂  Unofficially, only one more semester until I graduate.  That is, until I put on a robe and have my name read out in front of my family, as well as thousands of my closest friends and their families.  I really can not wait.  I have already decided that my New Year’s Resolution this year is to become a college graduate.  Finally, a resolution that I know I can keep, and the best part is once I graduate, I will always have at least one resolution that I kept forever. 

Happy [insert the name of your chosen holiday here] everyone!  The next time I blog, I will be 33.  Stay tuned to learn whether I will actually feel any older.  🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 23, 2008 in Life in General, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
