RSS

I Triple Dog Dare You

01 Jan

Raise your hand if you have seen “A Christmas Story”. I don’t remember when I first saw the movie, but I clearly remember watching it multiple times every holiday season.  In fact, I have probably seen it more often than the Rocky Horror Picture Show, and that’s saying something.  Many a classic quotation can be attributed to that movie.  For example, “You’ll shoot your eye out”, “I triple dog dare you”, and “I can’t put my arms down!”  Not a winter goes by that something doesn’t remind me of that movie.  This year, the most hilarious (and probably the most sympathy-inspiring) happened here at school just before Christmas. 

I was working in the cat rooms doing ward care when Kendra (the other girl doing Ward Care at the time) came to ask me for help with one of the dogs.  Lucky, it seems, appeared to have blood on his front legs, but she looked all over and could not find any wounds which would explain it.  She had noticed that he was licking his legs a lot, so she suspected there might be something in his mouth.  We put him up on an exam table and looked in his mouth, and saw the strangest reddish-pink spots on his tongue.  We didn’t know what it could be so we called Amy and Dr. Tom in to look at it, too.  The diagnosis?  Lucky appeared to have stuck his tongue to a fencepole while he was outside in the dog run.  I’m not kidding – we had a real doctor look at it, and this was truly what he suggested.  So this begs the question, of course – if dogs really want to convince someone to do something, do they say ” I triple human dare you”?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 1, 2009 in Uncategorized, Vet Tech war stories

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
