RSS

How many dogs can you have before you become a crazy dog lady?

02 Mar

You may remember from my last blog that I had a dilemma: Tattoo vs. Dog. I had all but decided to go the tattoo direction on Friday, but then I had my first day at my new part-time “job” (donating my plasma at BioLife). I’ve started doing this to try and get some desperately needed extra cash to help fund my externship. It turns out that if I get a tattoo, I am not allowed to donate plasma again for 4 months (a full year if I get the tattoo in Minnesota!). So what does this mean, you ask? Well, I think you can imagine it means I want a dog. Since there was so much interest in the puppies, Ian and I decided to try and get the mother. Friday evening, our coworker talked to the owner and she agreed to let us have the mother. Then on Sunday I got a message that the owner was having second thoughts about giving her up. Why this would be a problem for them, I don’t know. She lives outside, they probably only see her for a short time each day if at all, and they obviously can’t afford to get her the veterinary care she needs and deserves. She is apparently a very good dog, and that is part of why they want to keep her. But wouldn’t you think that if you love the dog, you would want her to be well-cared for? Why have a dog at all if you aren’t going to spend time with her? I just don’t get it.

I still don’t know what’s going to happen, but I have a feeling they are going to change their minds and keep the dog. Then I will end up with neither a dog nor a new tattoo. 😦

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 2, 2009 in Family Life, Life in General

 

Leave a Reply

 
