RSS

The worst part of my job

09 Apr

It is often the duty of a veterinary technician to be there with families when their beloved pets move on from this world. Sometimes we have to be the ones to help the animals across the bridge. This is my greatest worry about my chosen career.

Most people who know me are aware I am an extremely emotional person. If I see someone else crying, I cry almost instantly. It doesn’t matter if I know them, or even if I know why they are crying. I cry at movies, tv shows, sometimes even commercials.

I am so afraid that I will not be able to keep it together at work when families are falling apart. I mean, it is good to be empathetic to a certain degree; no one wants a cold and callous person to be there for them at a difficult time. But wouldn’t the opposite be just as bad? Wouldn’t they need someone to be there for them, understand what they are feeling, but to be strong enough not to completely fall apart? I wish they could teach that in school, but I’m afraid it’s either something you have, or something you don’t.

I suppose this is something I will have to work on for the rest of my life…

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
