RSS

Time’s A-wasting

15 Mar

Once again another month has passed since my last blog.  Honestly not a whole lot has happened since then so I’m not sure what I would have written.  Okay, that’s a lie.  There have been many occasions over the last month when I’ve thought to myself “I should write a blog about that”, but usually those thoughts strike me while I am working or driving or doing something else which makes it inconvenient to sit down and write.  Of course by the time I have a spare moment to write, I haven’t got the energy or the motivation (or worse, I have forgotten what I was going to write in the first place).

Here’s the good news:  this week I received notice that I have passed the VTNE – a national exam required to become a Licensed Veterinary Technician in North Dakota.  Now I am an LVT, albeit one who is currently employed in an only moderately related field.

Now the bad news:  though I am looking for work which more closely aligns with my education, I lose hope every day that I will find it.  While the internet is overflowing with stories of how the veterinary field appears to be immune to the current economic crisis, I think none of the people who write those articles are familiar with the job market in Fargo, ND.  Here we have a university and two technical colleges nearby where people can acquire a Vet Tech education, but only a handful of veterinary clinics.  As you can imagine, there is considerable competition and the starting wage for technicians is not usually impressive.

Add to this the fact that I do not want just any job.  Ideally I would like to find a job where I can hone my laboratory skills or work in a clinic that treats exotic animals as well as your usual dogs & cats; jobs meeting that description are difficult to find around here.  If I were willing/able to move to the Minneapolis/St. Paul area, I think it would be much easier to find something.  However, I am unlikely to find a job that would make the sacrifice worthwhile.  When I was young and fresh out of high school, I gave up everything to live in the Twin Cities and I never regretted it.  As a homeowner and a parent, packing up and moving is not so easily done.  The truth is, I like being in the same city as my parents. I love that my kids get to see their grandparents regularly, and am not eager to give that up for something as selfish as career satisfaction for myself.  I will simply have to get more creative in my job search.  Have I ever mentioned that I really hate job hunting?  Well honestly, who doesn’t?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
