RSS

Home is Where the Heart Is

05 Jun

I clearly remember the house where I grew up; I can see every room in my mind as if I just walked out the front door.  We moved out of that house when I was in junior high.  I remember walking through the house when it was empty, crying my eyes out.  I thought I would never be able to live anywhere else.  The house has been remodeled quite a lot since we lived there – I’ve never seen the inside, but it looks rather like a different house from the outside now.  Sometimes when I go back to my old hometown, I drive by that old house and wonder about the people who live there now. I now realize how difficult it must have been for my parents to make the decision to leave the house where I grew up. 

Eight years ago, Ian and I were delighted to buy our first house.  I always thought that we would live in that house at least until the kids went off to college, if not longer.  After 8 years in our home, we made the difficult decision to move.  When we first bought the house, we had such wonderful plans for it.  We were going to renovate the kitchen, fix up the basement, replace the roof, tear out the carpet and restore the hardwood floors, paint all the walls, maybe add a bathroom on the main floor, replace the siding, put up a fence, build a two-car garage… Of the items on that list, we have put up a fence, torn out most of the carpet, painted the walls, and done a little landscaping. That’s about it.  All of our visions of the house it could be have stayed in our imaginations, occasionally finding themselves on paper, but never materializing into the real world.  There are so many things I love about the house, but there are so many more things about it that were causing us stress, and we finally realized we would never find the time to improve it.  What’s the point of having a house with great potential if you never help it to reach that potential? If you were on a sinking ship, would you continue to hold on and let it drag you down?  Our house deserves better than what we can give it, and we deserve better than it can give us.  Staying in the house would be like staying in a stagnant relationship; maybe you still have affection for each other, but the passion isn’t there. You love each other, but you’re not in love with each other. You get the idea.

Thanks to the wonders of Facebook, we managed to find the perfect house to rent, within a week of our decision to move out.  In a fit of frustration, I posted my impossible wish list on Facebook, and a friend replied that a friend of hers lives next door to a house meeting just that description.  Whatever you call it, the timing was perfect.  I had a good feeling about it the moment I saw the yard; you could fit three of our old yards into the back yard.  It was the first place we looked at, and we only looked at one other place before deciding.  We moved in last Friday; it already feels like home.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2010 in Life in General, Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Home is Where the Heart Is

  1. JoAnna

    June 5, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    I’m so glad you love your new place!

     
  2. Roxane B. Salonen

    June 12, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    Congrats on finding a nice new place to call home. I can recall my old homes with vividness too. There is something about the places in which we’ve lived. They tell part of the story of who we are. I’m rather transfixed on them as well.

    Glad to have found you through Twitter. Thanks so much for your response tonight. It was very heartening to know we had neighbors on the lookout and thinking good thoughts.

     

Leave a Reply

 
