RSS

Spontaneity

17 Sep

image

image

image

image

image

This evening while sitting in my room, I was struck with two random desires. One was the desire to immediately consume a giant slice of Famous Dave’s bread pudding with caramel sauce. While this would have undoubtedly been delicious, it was not in the budget and since I didn’t feel like driving to Famous Dave’s and the restaurant was unlikely to deliver it to me, also inaccessible.

The second random desire was to build a blanket fort. I have no idea where it came from, but I decided to act upon it. So I did. It took about a dozen pillows, 8 blankets, 3 chairs, 2 clothes hampers, a floor lamp, a box of kleenex, the TV, a coaster, and a small speaker, but within 20 minutes the kids and I had built a giant magnificent blanket fort big enough to hold the three of us as well as both dogs and both cats. And when you lay down in it, you could see the television! Also, we finished it just in time for the new episode of Doctor Who. It was completely silly and pointless, but it was also marvelous fun. What a gloriously frivolous evening!

The fort has already been dismantled because I simply can’t trust our cats not to destroy it, but I took some pictures to remind myself that sometimes you need to stop taking everything so seriously and do something fun for no reason at all.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Spontaneity

  1. mareserinitatis

    September 17, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    Those are thing types of things that your kids will undoubtedly remember, too. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
