RSS

Class Differences Observed

14 Oct

I know I still haven’t finished telling about my day as a sixth grader, but the truth is I just haven’t been motivated to do much of anything for the last couple of weeks. Also since no one has been banging down my door asking to hear about my experiences with 6th grade math and science, I figure it’s safe for me to digress a little here and share a recent experience I had at work.

This is an actual conversation which took place between me and a coworker a couple of days ago:
Coworker: Who does your snow removal?
Me: Um. We do.
Coworker: Oh. Well I just set up a schedule with XYZ Company to do our snow removal this year. I wanted to be sure we got it set up before the snow came.
Me: Yeah, we’ve been meaning to take our snowblower in to get fixed before the snow comes but can’t afford it.
Coworker: How long has your snowblower been broken?
Me: Oh I don’t know…two or three years I think.
Coworker: *silence*

That was pretty much the end of that conversation obviously. This coworker of mine is clearly accustomed to a more comfortable lifestyle than what we are. She regularly comments about things which remind me of our class differences, though I don’t think it’s her intention to brag or to insult me. I think she simply doesn’t realize that not everyone enjoys the kind of financial stability which she clearly enjoys. What surprises me is that I’ve worked there for 6 months and she still hasn’t quite grasped that we are really not in the same tax bracket, as evidenced by the fact that she simply assumed I paid a service to clear my driveway in the winter. Maybe someday I will be financially stable enough to forget that other people are struggling to put food on the table, but I hope I never do.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Class Differences Observed

  1. mareserinitatis

    October 15, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    The thing I can’t get over is the guilt. When I moved down to Minneapolis, I kept asking myself why I was paying so much for a nice place down there. Mike said he wanted to be sure I was living in a safe neighborhood and we didn’t have to worry about crazy neighbors or anything like that. And I felt the same way! But I still felt like I was doing something wrong because I had that nice place.

    It’s strange…I wanted to make sure that my family never suffered through the things I did as a kid (like lacking regular meals and adequate clothes), but now that I’m there, I feel like it’s unfair. I feel bad because while I don’t have to worry about my next meal, I know there are people who do, and I shouldn’t get too smug because I happened to hit some kind of jackpot.

     
  2. An Observant Mind

    October 16, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    If its any consolation, we lived 9 years in Colorado (our first step into living with snow) and our way of clearing the snow was to drive or walk right over it, and wait for the sun to melt the rest! Always remember, you are more classy than SOMEONE in the world! Today, its me! 🙂

     
    • karifur

      October 16, 2011 at 5:49 pm

      Haha, thanks for the compliment! I live in Fargo ND so unless you drive a monster truck, there’s no way you can just drive over it & wait for the sun to melt it- actually even a monster truck probably wouldn’t be enough. Sometimes we get more than 12 inches in one snow fall 🙂

       
  3. fargojones

    October 19, 2011 at 11:31 am

    Catching up on your blog as a break in job hunting. Thanks for the diversion. This class discussion is something that comes up a lot in my life. A former coworker’s husband owned a check cashing place in town and was obviously doing very well for a business that I find ethically questionable. Nice person, but still, hard to empathize with.

     

Leave a Reply

 
