RSS

My addiction

29 Jan

I’m pretty boring, and actually I like it that way.
I don’t smoke.
I don’t drink alcohol.
I don’t gamble.
I don’t do drugs. Well, other than my prescription anti-depressant, but that is a necessity not for recreational purposes.

My weakness is soda. Or pop. Whatever you want to call it. I gave it up for a couple of years, and after a while I didn’t even miss it. But then I went back to school, and started working late evening hours. The fatigue started to catch up with me. Out of laziness, I resorted to the occasional bottle of Mountain Dew or can of Coke to keep me awake. Over the years it evolved to the point where I almost couldn’t get through a day without a soda. The worst was when I worked at a company which provided its employees with all the pop, milk, and coffee they could drink – for free.

Last Saturday I decided I’d had enough. I drank my last bottle of Mountain Dew in the morning. Since then I have ALMOST caved on several occasions, but I have successfully resisted for more than one week. Now there’s an accomplishment I can drink to.

But maybe just water.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2012 in My new life plan

 

3 responses to “My addiction

  1. Andria

    January 31, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    I find that seltzer seems to deliver the carbonation need without the sugar and ickiness of soda.

    Good luck!

     
    • karifur

      January 31, 2012 at 2:20 pm

      Thanks for the tip! I have never liked seltzer though so I don’t think that’ll work for me: it’s the sweetness and the coldness of the soda that I crave I think. However, I have been religiously toting my water bottle everywhere and refilling it with the icy water from the filter machine at the office which seems to be helping. For now…

       
  2. mareserinitatis

    February 4, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    I had to give soda up because it was exacerbating my stomach problems. Every once in a while I crave it, and at those times, I try to go someplace where I can get a nice Italian soda. At least that way, I’m not feeding the caffeine monster that makes it so easy to go back for more.

     

Leave a Reply

 
