RSS

I suppose it probably serves me right for procrastinating

09 Apr

I hadn’t even made an appointment with Fitness Coach Snape since before spring break, because he was going to be out of town and then I just never got around to making another appointment after he was supposed to be back. Bummer for me, because when I stopped into the gym last week there was a new guy at the desk. I inquired after young Snape and was told that he had moved to the other location in town. Bummer.

Also, my mom just got back from spending 2 weeks in Uganda filming a documentary, and I had not been climbing since before she left. Well, you wouldn’t think that a couple of weeks is long enough to make a difference but whoooo-boy, does it ever make a difference. We went climbing on Saturday and man was I ever sore on Sunday. I made it to the top of the “easy” wall, but after several failed attempts, finally gave up on my efforts to climb the more difficult walls. It was rather pathetic actually.

On the other hand, I don’t really need Snape anymore, because now I have my mom for a workout buddy. She and I went to the gym together three times last week, and that worked out pretty well. I also discovered that some of the treadmills at out gym can be programmed to automatically adjust the speed between running and walking at certain time periods. This is just what I need; up until this point I found it very difficult to make myself run if Snape was not standing next to the treadmill increasing the speed every minute or so. I also downloaded the Couch-to-5K app on my phone, which I have heard is really good for helping increase your endurance so you can actually run somewhat long distances without collapsing into a noodley heap of limbs.

I hope it works because I have already registered myself for the 10K at the Fargo Marathon, so it’s official now. No backing down now! It’s a good thing I have that registration hanging over my head because I already wish I had signed up for the 5K instead.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2012 in My new life plan

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “I suppose it probably serves me right for procrastinating

  1. mareserinitatis

    April 9, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    K and I will be doing the 10k. If your run pace falls into the ‘pathetically slow’ category, maybe we can run together. K can walk about as fast as I run. It’s those damn long legs. 🙂

    Good luck with the C25k. I had a great time with it, but there were a couple weeks I had to take off. I got through it in about 11 weeks instead of nine.

     
    • karifur

      April 10, 2012 at 3:53 pm

      I instantly regretted signing up for it when I realized we were supposed to line up at like 6:30 am. DAMN that’s early! I will try to find you before we start – I might get ahead of you but at least we can start out together, and then whoever gets there first can cheer the other one on at the finish! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
