RSS

Rule number one of Zombieland: Cardio.

19 May

I just finished a mothercussing 10K. This was my first 10K; the longest race I have ever completed before today was a 5K last October.

My goal today was to maintain a run 2 blocks/walk 1 block pattern and complete in less than an hour and a half. I didn’t run quite as much as I had planned but I did finish in under 1:30.

Lineup was at 6:30am. Also known as half-past way-too-effing-early-in-the-morning. My mom picked us up at 6:10 and I realized about halfway to the Fargodome that I had forgotten to put on deodorant. Not that it would have mattered probably; I doubt there is enough deodorant in the world to cover the smell of me attempting a 10K.


I started out with Ian, my friend Cherish, her older son, and about 3,000 of our closest friends. Ian started running right away so I quickly lost track of him in the crowd. At first I walked alongside Cherish but when I turned the first corner and started my run I lost her and didn’t see her again. From this point I was on my own.

Thank goodness I had my mp3 player. A little Tokyo Police Club here, a little Cure there, a side order of Green Day… And of course the spectators were excellent motivation. I was especially encouraged by the tail-wagging dogs on the sidelines, but the biggest motivator was the kids giving out high fives on the side of the road. I mean, you just can’t WALK up to a kid and get a high five. You have to EARN it. If they lined the entire route with high-fiving kids I might have been motivated to run the whole thing.

Somewhere around the 4th mile I hit the wall with a crash. I felt a stabbing pain in my left big toe; it hurt so much I actually had to stop for a minute. When I started again I walked for a few blocks and resumed with a pattern of walk a block/run a block. Near the high school I saw a man dressed as the grim reaper, holding a sign which said “THE END IS NEAR”. Damn straight.

At the corner of the Fargodome I started to run. Then I saw the finish and I REALLY ran. When I crossed the finish line I burst into tears. Then I saw Ian, and realized I was hyperventilating. I FINISHED!

Final time: 1:24:46. Wooooohooooooo!

I’m pretty effing proud of myself. But I’m not getting a big head; while I was waiting for my post-race milk and cookies, the first two half-marathoners (who started the race 15 minutes AFTER me) crossed the finish line. They ran more than twice the distance I did, and they did it 20 minutes faster. So much for my pride.

But I AM proud. I am a non-runner and I ran almost 4 miles before 8:30 am today. Even though I didn’t do it all at once, I think it’s pretty damn awesome and I would totally pat myself on the back, except that I am too tired to move.
_______________________________
PS- I completely forgot about this, but Cherish wrote on her blog about my suicidal pedometer so I had to tell you all about it too.

My workplace has a wellness program which includes tracking our daily steps (among other things obviously), so I made sure to wear my pedometer for the race. Shortly after I started running, a lady tapped me on the shoulder and said “You dropped a bunch of stuff back there!”. I turned around and saw my pedometer had fallen off and hit the ground, popping out of the belt clip. I had to fight my way about a quarter of a block back through the throng of runners to pick it up. With every step I worried that someone would kick it accidentally just as I reached for it, causing it to fly off through the crowd like in that scene from Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom. Fortunately for me that did not happen and I was able to collect both the pedometer and the belt clip without anyone stepping on my fingers.

By the time I finished the race at 8:30am, I had taken more steps than I have ever taken in any single day since I started tracking my steps. I could have sat on my butt all day and still been ahead of myself. My end of the day tally was 15,110. Yay me!

PPS- I also want to send out a special thank-you to my friend Andrea who stood at the corner of 21st Ave and Elm street to cheer on the runners – because of the layout of the course, I got to run by her twice. The second time I stopped for a hug and she took my empty water bottle off my hands too; every ounce counts when you’re running! (Confession: I did not run that hard the whole race. I broke out the sprint for you Andrea, even with my toe hurting the second time around.) Thank you for the encouragement!

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Rule number one of Zombieland: Cardio.

  1. jrwahlund

    May 19, 2012 at 10:04 am

    congratulations! It’s an accomplishment to be proud of!

     
  2. jrwahlund

    May 19, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Congratulations, that’s a great accomplishment! I’m proud of you!

     
  3. mareserinitatis

    May 20, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    You did a great job! But I’ll warn you that you better get on it or I’m going to totally blow by you at next year’s race. πŸ˜€

     
  4. mareserinitatis

    May 20, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    Also, you need to sign up for this 10k: http://www.fmhalfmarathon.com/races.htm πŸ˜€

     
    • karifur

      May 20, 2012 at 12:32 pm

      I did the 5K for this race last year with my coworkers. I was contemplating the 10K this year already, but now I think I really will have to.

       
      • mareserinitatis

        May 20, 2012 at 12:33 pm

        If you sign up, I’ll sign up. πŸ˜€ I also have a triathlon I’m doing in August, so hopefully I’ll be in better shape for it.

         
  5. kelleysbreakroom

    June 4, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    That is awesome! I’m not a runner AT ALL, but this most is motivating me to become one! Sort of. (Thanks for linking this up over at #findingthefunny last week!)

     
    • karifur

      June 4, 2012 at 3:42 pm

      I’m not a distance runner at all; I did sprinting for a while in track but I quit that because they still wanted me to do laps in practice, can you believe that?
      If you’re looking to get started, I’m telling you the best way is to get a bunch of neighborhood kids to line up on your street and give you high fives as you run by.

       

Leave a Reply

 
