RSS

No fat girl left behind

05 Jun

Friends, I did a crazy thing. I decided to sign up to run another 5K at the end of this month. I don’t know why. Okay yes I do. It’s because my counselor told me I need to set more short term goals and that next year’s Fargo Marathon 10K is too far away. Easy for her to say – SHE’s not the one who has to run the effing thing.

Ian and I decided to get new running shoes this weekend. He looked up my shoes on the internet and said “Oh here’s your problem – those shoes you’ve been using for running were actually designed for hiking.” Yeah, THAT’s my problem. The shoes. Not that I’m overweight and lazy and out-of-shape.

So anyway, we went to the local running store where they have experts who watch you walk and tell you what kind of shoes you should be wearing. She told me I pronate and I have high arches, and suggested a category of shoe which I should use. I tried on eleventy bazillion pairs of shoes and finally settled on a pair which miraculously erased the intermittent pain in my left big toe. And wouldn’t you know they were the most expensive pair? They cost more than I think I have ever spent on shoes in the whole of my life. I hemmed and hawed but eventually Ian convinced me to buy them because “if you have these shoes then you will be motivated to run more often because you won’t be able to stand wasting all that money on shoes you never use.” For my part, I’m thinking I’ll just hate running even more because I blew a huge wad of money on the shoes I never wear. Then the sales lady said that I should use them on a treadmill first because I can always return them as long as I haven’t worn them outside. So I ponied up the cash and bought the shoes.

Monday night I took my new shoes to the Y and ran my little heart out for 2-3 minutes at a time. Amazingly, my left foot didn’t bother me at all the whole time I was on the treadmill. But NOW there’s a new tingly-stabby feeling in my right foot that wasn’t there before. In fact I have never had any problems with my right foot at all. I complained about it on Facebook and a friend sent me this link about metatarsalgia, which sounds exactly like what I felt in my right foot. Damn. I wonder if I could get a different shoe for each foot?

However, I still managed to complete my 25 minute scheduled workout. I would like to thank the following songs for helping push me through the runs with their uptempo beats and general awesomeness:
Phoenix, “1901”
Cake, “Short Skirt, Long Jacket”
Tokyo Police Club, “Breakneck Speed”
Green Day, “Holiday”

After my workout, for reasons I can’t explain and can only attribute to endorphin-enduced stupidity, I stepped on the scale.  Friends, when I looked down I saw a number I haven’t seen since I was pregnant. And I’m not talking about the first-trimester-losing-weight-because-you’re-constantly-nauseous-and/or-vomiting kind of number. I’m talking about the due-in-a-month-and-people-are-already-asking-if-you’re-having-twins-but-you’re-not-because-it’s-just-a-really-big-baby-and-also-you’re-really-bloated kind of number. I’d like to say it’s all because muscle is heavier than fat, but let’s be real. I have been wearing the same size jeans for 6 months; that fat is not going anywhere. Meanwhile my husband has lost so much weight he has run out of notches on his belt. He could almost wear my jeans himself. I wish I were kidding.

I was so dejected I almost stopped at Dairy Queen for a blizzard to cheer myself up. But I didn’t. I will pause here so you can all mentally pat me on the back.

I was a pretty good girl today too. Here are some things I wanted to eat today but did not:
* McDonald’s french fries
* Arby’s chicken fillet sandwich
* Nachos
* Cold Stone Creamery’s cake batter ice cream with cookie dough and yellow cake
* Chocolate chip cookies
* A giant caramel frappuccino
* A brownie
* An entire cheesecake
* Enchiladas
* Frozen pizza
* A scotcharoo
* Garlic bread

Among the things I did eat was a large pile of fresh veggies. And yes, there was some dill veggie dip involved. Shut up, it was LITE dill dip okay? And it’s none of your business whether or not I had a piece of Coldstone Creamery ice cream cake. But if I did, it’s only because it is a federal crime to decline a piece of coldstone ice cream cake at a 13-year-old’s birthday party. Or if it isn’t, it should be.

 
 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “No fat girl left behind

  1. mareserinitatis

    June 6, 2012 at 5:19 am

    Yay! good for you for signing up. Is it the Chase Race?

    I guess I’m lucky that I have this ability to be able to go after long-term goals, but regardless, I am still very much in need of having goals. I won’t run to exercise, but I’ll run if I have to go to a race later. Maybe it’s worry about the humiliation of looking like an idiot. Dunno.

    Two things to remember about weight and running. First, and this was most important for me, if you’re overweight and exercising you’re still likely to show up as healthier than a skinny person who doesn’t exercise by all objective medical measures. So whether or not it’s reflected on the scale, your body is liking it. Second, you *will* start to lose eventually. It took me almost 3 mos. to finish the couch to 5k program, and in that time I lost *nothing*. On the other hand, I did notice a small change in my appearance and my clothes got looser. Mike would grin at me and say, “It’s working dear. You’re just getting denser.” (He was risking injury with that one.) Once I started running 30 minutes (or more) consistently, then the scale started reflecting that, too. Of course, it’s not going as fast as I want, but it’s definitely a downward trend. 🙂

     
    • karifur

      June 6, 2012 at 6:36 am

      Yep it’s the Chase Race.

       
      • Andria

        June 7, 2012 at 8:29 pm

        From now on, since you’re a runner now, I suggest you gauge things by pants size rather than the scale. Technically, I can race in the ‘big girl’ i.e. Athena category, and I wear a size 8/10. It’s those damn leg muscles, yo!

         

Leave a Reply

 
