RSS

I don’t know if you know this, but I’m kind of a big deal.

20 Jun

This little blog of mine doesn’t usually get a lot of traffic – I might get a couple of dozen readers on days I throw out a new post; most of them come from my subscribers (looking at you JW) and Facebook – probably from the same few people (hi Aunt Peggy!). But this week I’ve become suddenly popular. Well, popularish. I’ve gotten more hits in the last few days than I usually get in a month.

I think it started when The Bloggess posted a new blog about the ‘Author Unknown’ trending topic on Twitter. I just happened to see it right away and had a couple of comments to add. (If you want to read them, mine are numbers 7 and 15). This is not the first time I’ve commented on one of her posts but usually I’m much farther down the list. I don’t think anyone has ever clicked on the link to my blog from her website before. Well, apparently blog comments are like real estate – it’s all about the location. I’ve had 10 times more traffic on my blog since posting those comments. Surprisingly, rather a lot of the hits on the first day came from Australia. Either a whole lot of Australians wanted to see what I was all about, or just one Australian clicked on my link a whole lot of times. Or maybe someone clicked on my blog & left their laptop sitting out and a Koala bear accidentally hit the refresh key a bunch of times. Whatever the reason, it’s pretty awesome. Hello Australia! Welcome to my blog and stuff. If anyone is still here, that is.

I also managed to get a bunch of new Twitter followers because of it. And I promptly rewarded them by hardly tweeting at all since then. Sorry guys. Or you’re welcome. You choose.

Also I learned one of my blogs was in the top 5 most-clicked links on Finding The Funny last week! So when the new Finding the Funny went up, I expected to see a few more views than usual. What I got, but did not expect, was twice as many views as I usually get in an entire week. Maybe it’s silly to get so excited over people reading my stuff, but as someone who spent most of her youth as an outcast, I do still crave the approval of my peers.

So thanks for the ego boost everyone! I totally needed that.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “I don’t know if you know this, but I’m kind of a big deal.

  1. jrwahlund

    June 20, 2012 at 10:52 pm

    *waves*

     
  2. Heidi

    June 21, 2012 at 4:09 am

    Hi. Love your blog. I found you on ‘Finding the Funny’ and am slowly catching up on your posts. You actually managed to make me LOL which is something I don’t do at the best of times, but during a particularly stressful week, you may have saved me from imploding/exploding. Keep it up. Heidi (UK)

     
    • karifur

      June 21, 2012 at 5:57 am

      Thank you! Good to have you here 🙂

       
  3. Chris

    June 21, 2012 at 9:29 am

    Excellent. I felt the same way when The Bloggess started following me on Twitter. Though secretly I think she was scared I’d have her banished from the Internet if she didn’t. I am King, after all.

    Thanks for the funny and thanks for following me in the Twitterverse.

    @dcmacnut

     
    • karifur

      June 21, 2012 at 9:43 am

      I totally SQUEEd when The Bloggess followed me back on Twitter. Once she commented on a blog of mine and I almost peed myself.

       
  4. Pinkie Swear

    June 22, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    First time I’ve left a comment on any blog ever… You spelled ‘you’re’ wrong at the end but I’m stil going to follow you coz I love “I don’t know if you know this, but I’m kind of a big deal” And yes, I came here from Blogess whom I love because I found her from David Thorne whom I considered stalking, briefly. Carry on my love!

     
    • karifur

      June 22, 2012 at 8:40 pm

      Ooohhhhhh crap. I am fixing that typo immediately. Your/you’re/yore is a ginormous pet peeve of mine. In my defense, I really did type the whole thing with two thumbs on my phone.

       

Leave a Reply

 
