RSS

How a deer bought me dinner at a British Pub in Minnesota

24 Jun

Thursday I finally got around to picking up a rental car to replace our van which the deer tried to steal from me last week. So glad I sprung for the rental coverage on our new insurance policy.

Friday morning we went out for a run while our daughter was at summer band. No sooner had we arrived than I realized I had forgotten my phone at home. The world will never know how many sarcastic tweets and Facebook updates it missed on Friday because I spent three hours without a phone. THREEEEEEEE HOOOOUUUUUURRRRRRRRRSSSS. I thought I was going to die. Fortunately for you, I didn’t.

But I did manage to finish a 5K. And I did it in just under 45 minutes, which isn’t bad considering I walked the last 2K because my gimpy toe didn’t want me to run anymore. I should be able to manage my goal of finishing Tuesday’s 5K in under 45 minutes as long as I can stay motivated to run.

After the band lesson, we ditched the kids at my parents’ and drove the rental car to Minneapolis to see a concert which we have been planning since February. On the way we got the verdict from our insurance company – they declared the van a total loss because the deer’s redecorating will cost more to fix than they think is reasonably worth it. They offered us a settlement, but said we could keep the van if we took $700 less. We decided to keep the van. We can use the rest of the settlement to pay off the loan against the van and fix the windows, but won’t have enough to fix the dents. So basically, we got paid to not fix our van. Or if you put it another way, we agreed to buy our own vehicle from ourselves for $700. Damn, I might be the world’s biggest sucker.

Anyway, since the insurance thing is all ironed out and we no longer have to dig the change out of the couch cushions to pay our deductible, we decided to splurge on dinner at Brit’s Pub. Holy schnikies, I want to marry their Tandoori sauce. It’s good on everything. French fries? Delicious. Tandoori chicken wrap? Obviously a perfect combo. Beer battered fish? Brilliant. Ice cream? Actually I don’t know about that one; I was so stuffed I would not have been able to even try it. But I totally would have if I wasn’t so dangerously close to exploding. I could have eaten that sauce with a spoon.

After dinner we headed to the Target Center for the concert that brought us to Minneapolis in the first place – Tokyo Police Club. I got Ian the tickets as an anniversary present this year because they’re on of his favorite bands. They were actually one of the opening acts for Foster the People (who are famous for one of those incredibly catchy but seriously overplayed radio hits), but that’s incidental. We came to see Tokyo Police Club.

We realized we were thirsty before the first band went on, so we decided to get some drinks. I was just going to get a bottle of water, but it was $4 for a 24-oz bottle. FOUR DOLLARS!?! So I got a Mountain Dew. If I’m going to pay that much for a bottle of water, there had better be a whole lot of sugar and caffeine in it. Do you know what those bastards at concession did after we paid for our drinks? They took the effing bottle caps. WTF Target Center? Do you not know who you’re dealing with? I spill non-alcoholic drinks on myself WHILE I AM DRINKING THEM. I cannot be trusted with an uncapped bottle. Ian informed me this bottle cap thievery is done so people can’t throw the bottle caps during the show. W. T. F? This is actually a thing?! People are seriously weird.

Tokyo Police Club did not disappoint. They put on a great show AND played the song I really wanted to hear, so I didn’t have to track them down in the parking lot after the show to make them play it for me. I mean, we drove 250 miles to see them, so I think it’s the least they could do to play my favorite song. I’m sure they would have understood.

Foster the People put on a great show too. They played my favorite almost right away so after two songs, we could have left and we had already gotten our money’s worth. We stayed anyway but left while everyone was screaming for an encore. Mostly because we’re just too damn old to stand up at a concert for that long but also because we really didn’t care if we heard that radio hit or not. Unfortunately the acoustics in the Target Center were so dreadful the lyrics were almost completely intelligible. The sound was better in the bathroom. (This is not hyperbole.) But the stage show was great and everyone was so energized, I was definitely impressed.

Before we drove back on Saturday we stopped at REI so I could climb this 55-foot lump of fake rock:

image

image

Does this rock make my butt look big?

image

Dammit, I can't see my feet.

image

I still can't see my feet but at least I'm moving up

Yep, I totally made it to the top. It was so awesome. I can’t wait to go back and climb it again.

Oh and then today when we got back, we stopped at the grocery store and just happened to see my old friend and his wife, who I completely failed at catching up with a couple of weeks ago. This time we had a really nice chat and then went our separate ways to pick out groceries. Then after we walked away I realized I forgot to introduce him and his wife to my husband. *face palm*

All in all, a pretty successful weekend. So thank you to the Iowan deer who made it all possible by crashing into my van. I hope you made it.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “How a deer bought me dinner at a British Pub in Minnesota

  1. fargojones

    June 24, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    Sounds like a nice trip. Wish I could still climb the wall, but I’m afraid they’ll say I’ve gotten too big.

     
    • karifur

      June 24, 2012 at 2:57 pm

      I don’t think there is a weight limit. I saw a guy climb at the Y last year and he was probably over 300 lbs. You should call REI & ask if there’s a weight limit.

       
  2. Meredith

    June 25, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    Still mourning the loss of those 3 hrs. of fantastic tweets… 😉

     
    • karifur

      June 25, 2012 at 4:40 pm

      Me too. I would have asked for a moment of silence, but I think 3 hours of silence is more than enough to endure.

       
  3. mareserinitatis

    June 25, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    My husband is jealous of your rock climbing…

     
    • karifur

      June 25, 2012 at 7:37 pm

      Maybe you guys should come and climb with me. I have guest passes 😀

       
      • mareserinitatis

        June 25, 2012 at 9:55 pm

        Would love to, except for a couple minor problems. 1 – I’m terrified of heights. 2 – Mike doesn’t have enough strength in his hands/arms to do it any more. Other than that, I’m sure we’d be willing. 😀

         
      • karifur

        June 25, 2012 at 9:58 pm

        (1) My mom is scared of heights too but she still does it.
        (2) Most of the strength of climbing comes from your legs not your arms. But, you do need strong hands to hold onto the wall, that much is true.

         
      • mareserinitatis

        June 25, 2012 at 10:17 pm

        (1) I get dizzy and nauseated from being up high. Until I can find someone who does proprioreceptive/vestibular therapy for heights, I likely would just end up passing out. 🙂 (I wouldn’t make much of a climbing partner.) Unfortunately, I can’t find anyone who does it here…hoping I can find someone in the cities.

        (2) Mike used to be an avid rock climber. He’d love to do it…but yeah, just no strength any more. Even if he did have the strength to get through it, I’m pretty sure he’d regret it the next day. But he does think it’s cool that you do it.

         

Leave a Reply

 
