RSS

Guest blogger Stephen gets a birthday surprise from an unexpected source

29 Jun

[Editor’s note – this is my son’s first blog ever. He was telling me this story today when I got home from work and I said “stop right there – you need to make this a blog.” So here it is, friends. Enjoy! –Kari]

Hello there web surfer! I am going into high school and wanted to take a few too many classes so I am going to summer school for advancement. I bike there every day. Anyway, on Wednesday I followed my usual ritual until gym was over, when I walked outside to find my bike gone! Some douchebag stole my bike! I was pretty pissed at this point so I just called my Grandpa for a ride.

Friday I went to talk to the school resource officer, Officer Potter (unfortunately not related to Harry Potter) about my stolen bike.
“Was it on the North side of the school or the South side?” He asked.

“Uhhh…” I said, “Which way is North?”

“Okay,” he said, “Was it by the big parking lot or the little parking lot?”.

“The big one.”

He checked the security camera from the south side and I pointed out which bike was mine. Pretty soon we see this enormous kid, like Hulk sized, walk up and take my bike. Officer Potter zoomed in on the face of the kid and got this strange look on his face.

“What the?” he muttered.

Then he changed cameras. The view changed to the opposite side of the school from this morning. Officer Potter was standing in front of the school in the morning when that kid rode up on a bike. MY bike! The stupid idiot brought the bike back! Officer Potter pulled the kid out of class and made him give me my bike back.

“Now then,” he said to me “I’m guessing that kid took your bike because it was unlocked, since there were a lot of nicer bikes out there when he took yours. Is that right?”

I admitted that was true.

“What if I gave you a lock for free? I’m guessing you didn’t lock your bike because you didn’t have a key with you.” I said that was correct and he handed me a combination lock.

“Well happy birthday to me!” I replied.

“It’s your birthday?”

I nodded.

“Gimme a sec,” he said. He dug inside his desk, took the bike lock back for a moment, and slapped a blue bow on it!

“Happy birthday,” he said.

And that is how I got my own bike as a gift on my birthday, and a new lock too!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2012 in Family Life, Schadenfreude for you

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Guest blogger Stephen gets a birthday surprise from an unexpected source

  1. fargojones

    June 30, 2012 at 8:41 am

    Well done on your first blog!

     
  2. washerndryer

    July 3, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    THAT is a great story

     

Leave a Reply

 
