RSS

Things that make me feel old and stuff

30 Jun

My son turned 14 on Friday. FOURTEEN you guys. He is now legally old enough to get a learner’s permit. Perhaps I did not state that firmly enough. MY SON. IS OLD ENOUGH. TO DRIVE. *brain explode*

Adding to that “OMG I AM SO FRAKKING OLD” feeling that one gets when her first child is old enough to drive, one of my best friends since high school posted an old photo of us on Facebook. The photo was taken on our high school graduation day in 1994. Lordie lordie who’s almost forty (in 3-1/2 years)? That’s right friends – me.

Also my daughter got braces on Wednesday. My baby girl. Got braces. Oh, and she’ll be a teenager in December. It is all over for me; I might as well just put on a mumu and join the AARP. On the plus side, the event did inspire me to make another cartoon, which I also made into a t-shirt which you can buy on Zazzle.com.

On a related note, after finishing the 5K on Tuesday I decided to create a celebratory cartoon of my Mom & myself (and Ian’s foot). You can buy a shirt with this cartoon on it too if you want.

And in case you hadn’t guessed, I have started a Zazzle shop. I’m still just trying to get the hang of how it works, but I love the idea that I can make whatever I want out of my cartoons and stories. Unfortunately I’m not entirely sure what I want to make out of what cartoons. I just like the idea that someone somewhere can give a gift to someone and that gift will have one of my cartoons on it. I will gladly take requests. As long as those requests are not “For the love of all things holy please do not post any more dog & cat stories.” Because obviously I will continue doing that as long as my dogs and cats continue doing funny things.

 

6 responses to “Things that make me feel old and stuff

  1. mareserinitatis

    June 29, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    You know, I feel old whenever my kids have birthdays. On the other hand, a lot of my friends from college are Just Now! having kids, and I laugh at them, thinking about how they’ll be exhausted for the next twenty years, and then they’ll retire. My older one will be leaving home in a couple years, and I won’t be 40 yet.

    I guess I’m glad I had kids when I was younger so that I had the energy to keep up with them. And they’ll be moving out, and I will actually get to have time to myself, maybe a bit of money to do things (once they’re out of college anyway), and can look forward to grandkids. 😀

     
    • karifur

      June 29, 2012 at 9:20 pm

      Actually I feel the same way – as exhausting as it is, I am glad we had out kids young. I really want to be around for my kids (and grandkids if we have any) as long as I can. I can’t even imagine how exhausting it would all be if I were just starting to have kids now.

       
  2. fargojones

    June 30, 2012 at 8:39 am

    I laughed out loud at It’s all over for me. Thanks!

     
  3. Meredith

    July 2, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    Love that it’s time to “just put on a mumu and join the AARP”–I’m so there! At least we can look forward to scoring the senior citizen’s discount, right?

     
  4. Eva Gallant

    July 11, 2012 at 9:02 pm

    Sorry, no sympathy here; my oldest son just turned 40, and I’ll be 68 next month!

     
    • karifur

      July 12, 2012 at 10:34 am

      🙂 Yes I always have to remind myself that even when I feel old, my parents are always older than I am 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
