RSS

When all else fails, talk about food

19 Jul

It’s hard to be funny when you’re clinically depressed. But you know what’s never hard to do when you’re depressed? Eat junk food. Especially if you are Midwesterner of primarily Norwegian and German descent (which I most certainly am).

So obviously I have been fixating lately on food. Luckily for me, it’s the Street Fair this weekend! Ian and I will be going tomorrow (the kids might get to go too, if they behave. We will see.)

In the old days before the internet, pretty much the only way to find out what kind of food was at the street fair was to go to the street fair. If you wanted to know where the food was, you had to randomly stop people who were eating delicious-looking things and say “Holy stuff on a stick Batman, WHERE did you get that roasted unicorn leg?!” But now we have THE INTERNET! which provides us with nifty things like an online map listing all the food vendors and their locations(!) and a map of all the art/craft booths as well.

You know what would make the food directory even better? Menus of expected offerings from each individual food vendor. Even better if it had prices as well so Fair Foodies can properly budget for their Street Fair adventure. So let’s get right on that, Fargo Street Fair organizers. And you’re welcome, Fair-Goers.

Some things I hope to consume with reckless abandon:

  • Funnel cake with strawberries and whipped cream (not sure if these are even on the map, but I really hope so…)
  • Fry Bread Tacos
  • Cheese curds, obviously
  • Fresh-squeezed Lemonade
  • Some kind of deep-fried dessert on a stick
  • Calamari
  • Poutine on a stick [actually I don’t know if this even exists, but it TOTALLY should so I’m adding it to my list anyway]

What are your favorite comfort foods/fair foods? (If you say raw broccoli with fat-free ranch dip I will punch you in the face. Seriously, don’t waste my time with that crap.)

 
17 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2012 in Life in General

 

Tags: , , , , ,

17 responses to “When all else fails, talk about food

  1. JoAnna Wahlund

    July 19, 2012 at 9:34 am

    Deep-fried brownies. So incredibly unhealthy, but so incredibly delicious. And who doesn’t love funnel cake?

     
    • karifur

      July 19, 2012 at 9:35 am

      YEEEEEEESSSSS! Deep fried brownies = love

       
  2. mareserinitatis

    July 19, 2012 at 9:51 am

    Cinnamon donuts. Could care less about everything else, but those donuts always get to me. (BTW, are you going? Would love to meet you there if you are…)

     
    • mareserinitatis

      July 19, 2012 at 9:52 am

      I also forgot to mention those cinnamon roasted almonds. I usually buy a huge bag and bring them home…drags the guilt out for days…

       
    • karifur

      July 19, 2012 at 10:34 am

      I am planning to go, but not sure when yet. Still trying to figure out if it will be a family outing or if I will be going by my lonesome. I’ll let you know 🙂

       
    • karifur

      July 19, 2012 at 10:35 am

      I am planning to go, but not sure when yet. Still trying to figure out if it will be a family outing or if I will be going by my lonesome. I’ll let you know 🙂
      I do love the donuts also, but now that they’re available at the baseball games I don’t worry as much about getting my annual fix at the fair 🙂

       
  3. Jenel

    July 19, 2012 at 9:53 am

    Oddly enough, my favorite street fair foods were the roasted corn on the cob dusted with cayenne and the stuffed cabbage rolls — not too unhealthy 🙂 Then again, I spent six years working on Broadway so every year had the street fair right outside our front door so maybe I just overdid the junk food in the first couple years.

     
    • Jenel

      July 19, 2012 at 9:53 am

      Oh and the fresh kettle corn…

       
      • karifur

        July 19, 2012 at 10:36 am

        You can have MY share of the kettle corn. Never been a huge fan of the stuff :p

         
  4. Susan Bodendo - Super Earthling

    July 19, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    Ooh, fair food is such a wonderful guilty pleasure. There aren’t many things I don’t like, but I’m afraid calamari would top the list. I grew up with a mom who made various squid dishes all the time and the sight (watching her clean them) and smell (she usually stewed it) turned my stomach—still does.

    I’m pretty picky and particular with my fries—I want just enough greasiness, but never wet or soggy–so I’m afraid poutine would be out (I don’t even like ketchup on my fries). But I’m right on board with your other suggestions and those of the commenters.

    Probably one of my favorites would be the deep fried Snickers bar I had a few years ago. Damn that was good! 😀

     
    • karifur

      July 19, 2012 at 1:13 pm

      Deep fried snickers sounds GREAT – last year somone also had deep fried Oreos which sounded amazing, though I never did try any…

       
  5. Meredith

    July 22, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    I’m such a sucker for fried veggies–a true health nut at heart, you can tell 😉

     
    • karifur

      July 22, 2012 at 5:56 pm

      You know, I love fried veggies too. Strangely, I don’t remember seeing much in that department other than the obvious potatoes.

       
  6. Devan

    July 23, 2012 at 1:45 am

    Deep fried Oreos are FULL of the awesome!!!

     
  7. nicoleandmaggie

    July 23, 2012 at 9:50 am

    I want cheese curds! We don’t get fair food down here until the Fall when it drops from triple degree temps every day to you know, 90s.

     
    • karifur

      July 23, 2012 at 11:32 am

      I ended up skipping the cheese curds because my daughter loves them SO much, but can’t eat them because of her braces, so I didn’t think it would be fair to eat them in front of her.
      The sacrifices we make for our children.

       
      • nicoleandmaggie

        July 23, 2012 at 12:16 pm

        I would have allowed her to enjoy them vicariously through me. (Right now we’re in the opposite situation– I can’t eat things that DC can enjoy. But his happiness provides me with happiness.)

         

Leave a Reply

 
