RSS

This weekend I conducted an impromptu archaeological dig in my driveway

24 Sep

My parents bought a new living room set, which means that we just inherited an old living room set! YAY! That may sound less than desirable to you, but remember that my parents have no pets, no children under the age of 30, and keep a pretty clean house. So even their castoff old furniture is nicer than whatever furniture we already have. Except for the other stuff we got from them.

When my daughter and I hauled our old couch out of the living room, we heard a bunch of things ratting around inside it. This is pretty remarkable considering I removed the bottom lining of this couch a couple of months ago in order to retrieve a remote control which had fallen through a gaping hole in the seat. So in other words, all of the rattling was coming from the arms of the couch. Following is a complete inventory of the excavation:
12 mini candy bar wrappers
10 pencils, standard
4 pencils, mechanical
3 hand towels
2 ballpoint pens
2 sets of house keys
2 dead mice (just kidding)
1 purple wallet with last year’s student ID
1 toothbrush
1 paperback book
1 tube of chapstick
2 Nintendo DSi styluses
1 spoon
1 fork
1 stretchy hair clip, sparkly
1 set of ear buds, black
1 braided ponytail holder, purple/brown
2 rechargeable AA batteries
1fingernail clipper
1 Crayola crayon, mulberry
1 20-sided die
1 Neopet miniature
1 small red panda, plastic
1 silver ring with celtic knot design
1 quarter
Assorted bits of cereal, cat food, candy, and popcorn kernels
Pieces of garbage: too numerous to count
0 remote controls

And now I have a freshly vaccuumed living room with a lovely new[ish] couch in it. I think maybe it’s time I took a nap in that couch.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2012 in Family Life, Life in General, Schadenfreude for you

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “This weekend I conducted an impromptu archaeological dig in my driveway

  1. fargojones

    September 24, 2012 at 8:37 pm

    It really is an archaeological find that paints a picture of the people who lived on that couch. Nice!

     
  2. Stephanie

    September 26, 2012 at 8:03 am

    Holy Crap Woman!! I think that has to be some kind of record. lol! Impressed!

     
  3. melyssa

    September 26, 2012 at 11:08 am

    I found the exact same list in my vacuum!

     
    • karifur

      September 26, 2012 at 11:12 am

      That must be quite a powerful vaccuum!

       

Leave a Reply

 
