RSS

Why do we do the things we do?

18 Oct

This year I discovered a somewhat new blog which I absolutely adore. It’s called Daddy Doin’ Work. It’s better than your typical mommy blog because it’s not a mommy blog at all – it’s a daddy blog. I think Dads get a raw deal in today’s society; yes there are deadbeat dads out there, and yes there are dads who don’t have a clue what they’re doing. But there are also lots of dads out there who are great at being dads. I’m lucky enough to be married to one of them, so I appreciate the message this dad has to share. The first of his blogs which I read was titled What’s Your Why? I encourage you to read it (and its predecessor, Achieving Happy); I’ll wait here. [However, in case you haven’t read it and don’t plan to do so, I will plow on towards the point of this post.] Daddy Doin Work posed the question to help people find their motivation.

When I asked myself that question, I didn’t immediately come up with the answer I thought I would.

Why do I live my life the way I do? I want to do everything I can to leave the world a better place than I found it. I want to make a positive impact in the lives of the people I know, and I want my children to do the same one day. Since they are teenagers I recognize that this may not always be easy for them, but I want them to know how important it is to be a force of good in the world. Even if you do it with a tinge of humor and sarcasm. In this technological era, it has become possible to improve the lives of people you have never met, simply by writing something that makes them smile or encourages them to make a positive change in their own lives.

Though I admit I have very strong opinions about a number of hot button issues, I’m not an activist. I’m just a woman who likes to write things down and make people laugh, but without a significant amount of effort or personal risk. When I first started blogging I was only on MySpace (anyone remember what that is?). It was my way of keeping my friends and family up-to-date on my life, because I have always been terrible at doing that. The blog really came in handy when Ian & I traveled to India in 2007 because we really didn’t have time to update everyone individually. Eventually I discovered WordPress and found I greatly preferred it to MySpace because it allowed me to share with anyone, whether they used MySpace or Facebook or none of the above.

So why do I blog? For the same reason I use Twitter. I do it because I have to share things with other people. If blogs and Twitter did not exist, I would probably be that crazy lady who goes to Walmart for a pack of gum and spends 20 minutes telling the poor cashier about the crazy thing her cat did that morning, or standing on the street corner shouting at anyone who makes eye contact “OMG YOU’LL NEVER BELIEVE WHAT I SAW AT THE MALL TODAY!!”

I’m sure every blogger has at least one friend or relative who insists “you should write professionally!” I’ll be honest, I love hearing that. I’m not one of those people who says she doesn’t care what people think. I care way too much what people think. I obsessively check my blog stats; it makes me happy when I see a spike in my numbers, and it makes me sad when a blog doesn’t get read as much as I think it will. I mean, some of these things are bloody hilarious! But that’s not why I blog; I’m not a writer and I really don’t want to be one. I would write even if no one read my blogs but my parents.

I just like to tell stories. And I like it even more when people enjoy them.

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Why do we do the things we do?

  1. fargojones

    October 19, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    Well said

     

Leave a Reply

 
