One question you never want to hear at the doctor’s office

05 Nov

Last night my daughter stubbed her toe while trying to avoid stepping on the cat who, like most cats, has a habit of being underfoot at the most inconvenient times. Later, she accidentally landed on the same toe when trying to climb over something in her room. This morning she bumped the same toe while walking into the dining room. THE EXACT SAME TOE, you guys. Three times in less than 24 hours.

This kid has the worst luck. It seems like she is injuring herself every week. I’m amazed she hasn’t broken more bones in her lifetime. She’s had more serious injuries in less than 13 years than I have had in nearly 37. It’s almost like an art form for her.

Obviously the walk-in clinic ordered x-rays, which I expected. When we got to the xray room the nurse asked the usual questions:

“What’s your name?”
“When’s your birthday?”
“Is there any chance you could be pregnant?”

Wait, what?


The nurse must have sensed my horror because she turned to me and said “Sorry, we have to ask because of her age.” Could someone please bring me something for the heart attack that nurse just gave me?

Okay I get it. My daughter is of the age when that sort of thing is possible. But I was SO NOT READY to hear that question today. This is my baby girl we’re talking about. Thank goodness her answer was “no”, but just hearing the question was enough to make me want to vomit. Nothing like that to suddenly remind a mother that her child is growing up. I mean, only 20 more years or so and she might have to answer “yes”. Okay, 15 more years, but that’s as low as I’ll go.

The radiographs didn’t show any obvious fractures, so they recommended ice, elevation, and ibuprofen. They also gave her a flat-soled shoe which is supposed to help make it less painful to walk by preventing her from bending the toe but actually still hurts because the straps that hold the shoe on her foot lay right across the swollen toe. Also it’s really ugly and makes her right leg shorter than her left leg because the sole is not as thick as the sole of her regular shoe.


No honey, it's fine. I'm sure all the cool kids we'll be wearing these in a year. You're a trendsetter!

The best thing about the shoe is that the sole is made of that crappy black rubber you aren’t supposed to wear in gym because it leaves scuff marks all over the floor. Awesome.

It’s a good thing we got the ugly shoe though because she has already almost stubbed her toe again at least twice since we got home. Seriously, that toe has some kind of death wish.


Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “One question you never want to hear at the doctor’s office

  1. jrwahlund

    November 5, 2012 at 11:53 am

    I had to take Gabe in for chest x-rays when he was a month old (suspected pneumonia, which it ended up not being), and the tech had to ask me the same question. I guess it would have been technically possible, bush sheesh. I was a month postpartum and had slept only two hours that night – it was not a good time to ask me that question!

  2. Laura

    November 14, 2012 at 7:17 pm

    Oh wow. I can’t even imagine. My daughter’s still a baby so luckily I will not have to think about this for many years!

    • karifur

      November 14, 2012 at 8:34 pm

      I hope you won’t also. I’m still trying not to think about it. *shudder*


Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 978 other followers

