RSS

I am thankful for clearly labeled restroom doors.

29 Nov

This year we spent Thanksgiving with my husband’s family, which is approximately 5 hours away. Because my boss is The Most Awesome Boss In The World, she let me have Wednesday & Friday off so we could make the trip in a leisurely fashion, rather than driving down late Wednesday after work, going to bed, waking up, stuffing our faces, and driving back Thursday afternoon while trying not to sink into a tryptophan-induced coma.

My mom also helped ease our passage by handing me the keys to her car so we didn’t have to spend half our paychecks to rent a car. The adventure began when I had to back out of Mom & Dad’s narrow driveway without crashing into the house or the fence. It only took me about 45 minutes of backing up, pulling forward, backing up, turning, etc. I didn’t hit the house, but I may have bumped into the step. Once or twice. And maybe one of those reflector posts. (Don’t worry Dad, it didn’t break)

On the way down we stopped at a fast food place for breakfast. About an hour later we stopped at a rest area where I totally did NOT walk into the men’s bathroom by mistake. You must be confusing me with someone else. Ask that guy who was washing his hands, he’ll tell you it wasn’t me.

Unrelated: There should be construction standards for rest areas:  Women’s bathrooms always on the right, men’s always on the left. Those signs on the door are only helpful when the door is closed. Just saying.

What?

Anyway, as we were merging back onto the interstate I got the inspiration to finish a cartoon and I grabbed my iPad. Then I realized my stylus was in my purse and as I went to get it, suddenly remembered I had left my purse at the restaurant. You know, the one where we had stopped for breakfast FIFTY MILES BACK.

So I had to drop off Ian & the kids at Target so they could hang out in the cafe playing cards & drinking coffee while I did the 2 hour Round-Trip of Shame to reclaim my purse. Lucky for me, someone had found it and turned it into the manager who promptly locked it in her office. I was relieved to see all my cards were still present, and no one had taken my crisp $1 bill. Thank goodness for honest people.

The rest of the drive passed without issue and we arrived only a couple of hours later than we planned (though still in plenty of time for dinner). We had a great holiday with almost all of Ian’s immediate family, and the food was delicious even though there was no cranberry sauce and Grandma’s gravy is not like my mom’s.

On the way home, I was careful to double-check every restroom door before entering. Just to be safe.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “I am thankful for clearly labeled restroom doors.

  1. Andria

    November 29, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    Do you not have a car? I’m confused my this detail.

     
    • karifur

      November 30, 2012 at 12:45 pm

      We have a car but it is in rough shape and we don’t drive it on the highway ever. We used to drive the van for our roadtrips, but it’s currently parked in our driveway, with the starter on the passenger seat.

       
  2. fargojones

    December 1, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    Forgetting crap on trips is the worst! Glad all was in order, but man, that must have been a curse filled 50 mile drive back with a pit of worry gnawing your insides.

     
    • karifur

      December 2, 2012 at 12:45 am

      I had already called to confirm they had it before I went back, so I only had to worry about whether my checkbook, cards, etc were still it in. I knew I didn’t have any cash so that was ok, and the bag is so stuffed full of crap I didn’t think anyone would waste much time looking for valuables in it :p

       

Leave a Reply

 
