RSS

How I plan to make 2013 my bitch

01 Jan

I don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions. I suffer from a deadly combination of impatience and procrastination. If there’s something I want to do, I don’t like waiting for it to happen. Probably because if I wait too long then procrastination takes over, and it doesn’t happen at all.

That said, I do have things I want to do this year. In the spirit of the new year, I’ll share some of them with you but try not to be too hard on my if I don’t meet those goals. I’m a professional procrastinator, remember?
(1) Complete at least three 5K races before the end of the year. (This should be no problem, because I already have 4 that I want to do.)
(2) Scan at least one of our photo albums into digital format before the end of the year. (This one will be more difficult. It was also my goal last year and I managed to scan a total of one (1) photo. Not photo albums. Just one picture.)
(3) Do at least one load of laundry every day, unless there is none to wash. (HAHAHAHAAAAHAHAHAHAHAAA, I’m just kidding. I have two teenagers; obviously there will always be laundry to wash.)
(4) Buy a new-to-me vehicle to replace the dead minivan in my driveway. (We have already been shopping since mid-December, and have managed to narrow down the search to only a few potential vehicles, so I hope to have met this goal by the end January.)
(5) Visit the climbing wall at least twice a month. (I might need your help with this one, Mom.)
(5A) Keep track of total climbs per month & try to increase this number every month.
(5B) Climb that tough wall in the corner. All the way to the top. (This one might not happen this year; I have been trying to defeat this wall for almost a year and get stuck halfway up every time I try.)

Some of these goals are things I’ve been working on for a while already. Like I said, I don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions because they are easy to forget or abandon when February comes. But I need to have goals or I have trouble getting started. That’s why when I decided to do these things, I started right away or set specific deadlines for completion.

Don’t wait for an arbitrary holiday to improve your life; when you know what you want to do, make it happen right away.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2013 in Life in General, My new life plan

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “How I plan to make 2013 my bitch

  1. Mary Pierce

    January 1, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    I’ll just keep on you for the scanning photos part. I mean come on. I scanned like 30 years of photos or like 50 albums in one year! šŸ˜›

     
    • karifur

      January 1, 2013 at 5:20 pm

      What would I do without you to keep me in line, Mary?
      Although it’s not REALLY a fair comparison because at the time you had no children or pets, and only one job. šŸ™‚

       
  2. fargojones

    January 6, 2013 at 6:57 pm

    all the best! Wife and I are making new goals each week. I got mine the first week! Hopefully this system will help us keep the goals fresh, or if we don’t get it, whole new batch of goals to erase the fail of the previous week.

     
    • karifur

      January 6, 2013 at 7:12 pm

      Ooo I love this plan!

       

Leave a Reply

 
