RSS

I went to Busch Gardens with a Great Dane and all you get are these awesome pictures

28 Jan

This is my new friend Sven:

This is a picture of Sven.

Isn’t he cute?

I got Sven as a freebie at the veterinary conference I attended in Orlando last week. The lady who gave me Sven said they were having a Facebook contest – whoever posted the picture of Sven which got the most “likes” would win $50. I didn’t win, but I stilll thought it would be fun to post all the pictures I took of Sven, starting with our day trip to Busch Gardens. I think a lot of people thought I was more than a little nuts taking pictures of a  tiny stuffed Great Dane all over the place, but that’s part of the fun.

The last time I was at Busch Gardens, I slept pretty much the whole time in my stroller and a goat tried to eat my brother’s t-shirt. So I was pretty sure this would be more fun than that.

Here’s Sven on the bus just before we left the hotel:

This is Sven sitting in the window, waiting for the bus to leave

As you can see, he’s a bit nervous but very excited.

The first thing we did at Busch Gardens was go on a Safari. We met a giraffe named Jafari (hey that rhymes!):

If you could see it, this would be a picture of Sven pretending to kiss a giraffe.

Awww

We saw elephants:

image

Sven thought they were very big but was disappointed he didn’t get to ride on their backs like in the movies.

We saw the cheetah…

Too bad you can't see this, because it is a picture of a cheetah and cheetahs are awesome.

I freaking love cheetahs.

…and learned this cheetah grew up with a dog named Mtani:

This is Mtani. She's totally like "What? I live with a cheetah. No big deal." Also, she looks exactly like my friend's dog Ruby.

This is Mtani. She’s totally like “What? I live with a cheetah. No big deal.” Also, she looks exactly like my friend’s dog Ruby.

I couldn't get a picture of them together so instead I took a picture of a poster of a picture of them together.

I couldn’t get a picture of them together so instead I took a picture of a poster of a picture of them together.

Sven was impressed. We sat and watched Mtani and Kasi for a long time.

Sven looking through the window at Mtani

Look, she’s one of MY people!

We saw tigers. I had some difficulty getting a good photo of the tigers at first so I moved to a different window. One of the tigers decided to be very helpful and came over to the new window to pose for pictures.

I could've totally reached out and scratch this kitty under his chin. If there hadn't been several inches of glass between us.

I could’ve totally reached out and scratched this kitty under his chin. If there hadn’t been several inches of glass between us.

The tiger didn’t know what to think of Sven.

We stopped at this little hippo sculpture garden so I could take a picture of Sven inside the mouth of a Hippopotamus.
image

There was a little area with carnival games like the ring toss, etc. I almost played a game to win an angry bird, but realized if I won I would have to figure out how to get it home because it wouldn’t fit in my luggage and I didn’t want to sacrifice one of my carryon bags for it, and if I had to pay to ship it home then I might as well just buy one anyway.

I set off again to find the Cheetah Hunt roller coaster because I had wanted to ride it earlier but the lines were too long. By the time I got there, I didn’t really feel like riding it after all so instead I just took a picture of Sven sitting in the “try sitting here to see if you’re big enough to ride this ride” seat.

This is Sven sitting inside the fake roller coaster seat.

He wasn’t big enough.

The next day, it was time for Sven and me to return to Fargo. I got the the airport over an hour before my flight, so I got myself a frappuccino.

No, Sven. Chocolate is not good for dogs.

No, Sven. Chocolate is not good for dogs.

Sven thought it was pretty rude of me to order a mocha one because chocolate is bad for dogs. When we boarded the plane, I let Sven have the window seat:

This is what they call a window seat.

This is what they call a window seat.

He didn’t mention it, but I think he was pretty disappointed that he couldn’t stick his head out the window.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 28, 2013 in Life in General, Vet Tech war stories

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
