RSS

If I die in my sleep my tombstone should read “She forgot to wake up today”

12 May

You know that thing where you go into another room to do something, but then immediately forget what you went in there to do? I am a champion at that. I lettered in it in high school. I was captain of the team in college. I probably could have gone pro with it but I forgot to sign up for the draft.


This is why my smartphone is a blessing and a curse. I used to write sticky notes to myself, makes lists in notebooks and on scraps of paper which I would eventually lose. Now I use the task list and calendar in my phone to keep lists and set reminders. This works great, as long as I leave the ringer on and keep my phone nearby. If I lost my phone I would be so screwed.

Occasionally I try to get things done without making a list, but it doesn’t always work out. Sometimes I go to the store for dish soap, and come home with 50 different items, none of which are dish soap.

Friday I went home on my lunch break and was proud of myself for all the things I accomplished. I picked up some tickets I had won from a radio station, went home, emptied the dishwasher, put away the clean dishes, started a new load of dishes, did a load of laundry, fed the dogs and let them out, and still had just enough time to get back to work on time. Then, when I was halfway back to work I realized that I had forgotten something.

My lunch. I went home for lunch and the only thing I didn’t do was eat lunch.

I have mad skills.

 
 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “If I die in my sleep my tombstone should read “She forgot to wake up today”

  1. Jonathan

    May 13, 2013 at 10:08 am

    Just discovered your blog. I have mad (unimportant in the course of daily life) skills too ๐Ÿ™‚ Adding you to the list of blogs I stalk immediately ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • karifur

      May 13, 2013 at 10:10 am

      Thanks Jonathan!

       
  2. Julie

    May 17, 2013 at 12:26 am

    omg, this is SO me.
    just found your blog, thanks for making me smile, i needed that.

     
    • karifur

      May 17, 2013 at 7:51 am

      I’m glad you found me. It’s always nice to know we havr kindred spirits out in the universe, isn’t it? ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  3. MeglyMc

    June 4, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    If I hadn’t learned to text myself, I wouldn’t remember to breathe. ๐Ÿ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
