RSS

Life is so much easier when people’s expectations of you are low

06 Jun

A friend of mine currently has an 8-month-old baby. If you have ever had young children, or spent much time around someone who does, then you are surely aware that they often get enthusiastic praise for just about every little thing they do. For example, my friend’s little girl is working hard at being an early walker. She has been pulling herself up to stand assisted for a while, but yesterday she stood on her own for the first time. For a few seconds, anyway.

When my friend told me this, I was all “OMG THAT’S SO EXCITING!” and got kind of squealy and clappy. You know, like you do when you are talking about things that little kids do.

A little while later my friend said “Wouldn’t it be nice, just for a day, to get enthusiastic praise for doing pretty much nothing, like we do for babies who are learning to do stuff?” Just imagine how great you would feel at the end of the day!

“You got dressed all by yourself?! GOOD JOB KARI!”

“Did you just tie your own shoes? Aren’t you clever!”

“Are you feeding yourself with a spoon? YAY!!!”

“Look at you walking without even falling down!! *clap clap clap*”

And it could even be extended to make you feel better about mistakes. For example, a few minutes ago I tried to drink some water but it accidentally dribbled a little down my chin. My friend said “Awwww, that’s okay Kari, it was a good try. You’ll do better next time!”

By the end of the day I expect to have significantly elevated self esteem. I suggest you should all try it too. If nothing else, at least it will be good for a laugh! Either way, you end your day on a slightly higher note.

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Life is so much easier when people’s expectations of you are low

  1. JoAnna

    June 6, 2013 at 8:33 am

    Kari! You wrote a blog post! GOOD JOB!

     
    • karifur

      June 6, 2013 at 8:43 am

      Awww look who’s all grown up and commenting on blogs all by herself! I’m so proud of you JoAnna! YAAAYYYYY!

       
      • fargojones

        June 6, 2013 at 10:13 pm

        I feel like as a guy, if I played along with this, I’d be pegged as a condescender. sigh.

         
      • karifur

        June 7, 2013 at 12:03 pm

        That’s probably slightly true, but I think anyone who tried to do this without first informing people what they were doing would probably appear condescending and sarcastic.

         
  2. Kellie @ Delightfully Ludicrous

    June 6, 2013 at 11:26 pm

    I’m tempted to try this at work, but for an added thrill not tell anyone what I’m doing beforehand ;D

     
    • karifur

      June 7, 2013 at 12:05 pm

      If you do, I will have to insist you report back on the results. 🙂

       
  3. Robyn

    June 7, 2013 at 11:35 am

    Typing all by myself today!!!

     
    • karifur

      June 7, 2013 at 12:05 pm

      And you did it without typos too!! GOOD JOB!

       
  4. Punky Coletta

    June 8, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    I am so trying this!

     
    • karifur

      June 11, 2013 at 11:29 am

      Let me know how it works out for you! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
