Assignment: A Christmas Mix Tape (Geeky Edition)

Earlier this year I discovered another blogger who hosts a weekly blog hop called Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday. The idea is, she gives you a theme and you have to choose up to 5 songs that fit the theme and blog about them. I have always enjoyed reading these and thinking about what songs I would choose that fit the theme. Sometimes I comment on her posts with my selections but I have never actually written a blog myself.

This week the theme is Christmas. You are lucky because I just happened to have a few Christmas songs that immediately jumped into my mind when she announced the theme. And because it’s ME, you know they’re going to be geeky. So here you go:

“God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” – Barenaked Ladies (with Sarah MacLachlan)
Despite the obvious Christmas theme of this song, it’s actually one of my favorite songs in general – I love it so much that it is in my workout playlist all year-round. This time of year though, I break it out even more often than that. In fact, right now it plays whenever a reminder goes off on my phone. It’s just makes me smile every time I hear it.

“You’re a Mean One, Mr Grinch”
I had a heck of a time finding a version of this song that actually contained the video from the original Chuck Jones animated movie. I finally gave up so you get this one instead:

“The Twelve Days of Christmas” – John Denver and the Muppets
This is far and away the best version of this song ever recorded. I mean come on, just about every song is better with the Muppets in it.

“Carol of the Bells”
This is my favorite Christmas carol of all time, and I love listening to all the different versions of it. I especially love when it’s sung by a full chorus; the harmonies are just lovely. While perusing YouTube to find a really killer version of the song with bells and harmonies, I found THIS, which is EVEN BETTER:

Brilliant.

Like I said, every song is better with Muppets.

3 thoughts on “Assignment: A Christmas Mix Tape (Geeky Edition)

  1. You have made my year! FINALLY!! Of course I loved just having your choices in the comments, but am so honored that you actually played. And guess what? We are the same you and I. Great geek minds think a like. I love ALLL of these songs, I had not heard the Carol of the Bells Muppets, but now it’s gonna be a go to for sure. I made a YouTube playlist for the boy for Christmas, that just got added.
    This is awesome! thank you so much for interrupting your regularly scheduled programming!
    Merry Christmas!

Leave a comment